Pipistrelles

HOW I SPEND MY SATURDAY NIGHTS:
Since 2004, I have been fortunate to have a regular Pipistrellus pipistrellus maternity roost in the cavity walls of my house in Pantydwr (SN983746), and in previous years there has been between 30 and 40 bats. This year the bats returned as normal, and then two weeks ago they were gone. My roost is registered as part of the BCT Colony Count, and I was feeling disappointed about my results from last week’s count. However, this weekend they are back. I had heard them while I was in bed on Friday night, and so tonight I was fully armed and ready to venture into the wilds of my front drive-way to count them again. The humble tally-counter is a wonderful invention, as I couldn’t have kept count without one. I recorded 110 out and 1 back in from two roosts (in 52 minutes).
(From Brian Matthews, Pant y dwr)

One Response to Pipistrelles

  1. steeejones says:

    Hi Brian
    There is a similar roost next door to me at schoolhouse, Llanwrthwl. Ive counted 40+ at dusk last year. I haven’t looked much this year – I will now.
    Regards
    Steve

Leave a Reply

